Windandsea – La Jolla California


Windansea La Jolla California Seascape Landscape Photo SunsetCanon 5D Mark III, 24-105mm f/4L IS USM at 28mm, f/16 for 1s at ISO 100

Background

This is similar to the shot I showed yesterday, but in landscape, from a slightly different location and shot around 30 minutes before sunset. Although the scene is similar, the mood is different in each image.

How to get this type of shot

As with the photo from yesterday, I tried to layer the image as much as possible by interweaving the rocks with the incoming tide. Just to the right of the frame are some homes that I chose not to include in the composition to give it more of an “out on the beach far from civilization” look even though I was right in the middle of La Jolla.

I used f/16 to get a large depth-of-field and wanted a shutter speed to show some, but not too much motion in the waves. There were some breaks in the marine layer that allowed for some light to come through (way on the horizon you can see some God rays) so I used my 3-stop graduated ND filter to even the exposure of the sky to match that of the foreground. This filter is a must have if you are a landscape photographer and I use it on about 80% of my landscape shots. There are many choices in terms of number of stop reductions and manufactures, but if I were to only buy one, it would be the graduated 3-stop (0.9) from either Lee or Singh Ray. You will also need the Lee Foundation holder and proper adapter ring to match your len’s diameter.

Next time out I hope to have clearer skies as the last half dozen or so times I have been out to the coast, it has always been overcast during sunset.

Location

Rock formations at Windansea Beach in La Jolla California (Coordinates: 32.827924,-117.280261)

18 thoughts on “Windandsea – La Jolla California

  1. Fantastic shots! I really like the texture in the rock and the wave crest. Subtle and strong at the same time. I think I prefer the vertical version, though both are great well-thought compositions. Definitely agree on the filter suggestion: I tend to use my 3-stop hard grad most too.

  2. Wow! Absolutely stunning tones and shape. The softness of the eroded rock surface compliments the gentle waves perfectly. Your choice of shutter speed is perfect. Wonderful image!

  3. A wonderful composition and image. You are such a great photographer.
    I’m not that much into landscape photography, but when I do I often shoot in bright day light, which, like you know, is rather difficult to shoot in. I have a 3 stop ND graduated filter but sometimes it’s not enough in these conditions.
    Have a great week-end :)

Leave a Reply

