La Jolla Sunset Seascape


La jolla San_Diego sunset ocean seascape landscape tidepoolCanon 5D Mark III, 17-40mm f/4L USM at 24mm, f/16 for 1s at ISO 100

My wife and I decided to spend last Sunday afternoon in La Jolla hoping to catch a sunset with some dramatic clouds in the sky, and we were not disappointed.  For those readers not familiar with La Jolla, it is an enclave located along the coast about 10 miles north of San Diego proper.

Photographing La Jolla is always a joy due to the gorgeous coastline where you have your choice of rocky formations or sandy beaches. It is also great for bird photographers with its colony of pelicans and for general wildlife photographers since seals can be seen basking on the beach and sea otters can be found frolicking in the ocean.

The shot above almost never got made since even with a 2-stop ND graduated filter, I did not feel I could capture the dynamic range of the sunset and the rock formations in the foreground. After some encouragement from my wife and seeing the sunset scene develop before my eyes, I made this composition and clicked off a few shots.  This image became my favorite of all the photos made that day.

12 thoughts on “La Jolla Sunset Seascape

  1. This picture makes me miss the cove! I used to swim from Children’s Pool to the Shore every day. Thank you for reminding me how beautiful it is down there. I think a trip is in order soon! Fabulous shot!

Leave a Reply

