San Francisco Painted Ladies


San Francisco Painted Ladies cityscape alamo square skyline

Canon 5D Mark II, 24-105mm f/4 IS USM at 85mm, f/11 for 13s at ISO 200

San Francisco has a special place in my heart since it is where I first met my wife. The above photo is another ‘Classic’ shot, this time of the “Painted Ladies” at Alamo Square with the financial district serving as the back drop. I probably shot this location for about an hour using a neutral density grad before sunset then shooting without a filter and using longer and longer exposures when the sun went down. Out of all the photos that evening, I liked this shot the best where the exposure of the houses matched that of the city without the use of any filters. We will most likely be back in SF this year, and if I were to do this shot again, I would probably shoot it from higher up the hill in order to show more of the city in the background.

Leave a Reply

